Is soy sauce vegan ?
Soy sauce is a staple of many Asian cuisines. It is used in order to give goods a salty and savory taste. This taste is dominant in many Asian foods like chinese food. However, it begs the question: is soy sauce vegan ?
How is Soy Sauce made?
Soy sauce is made using a combination of soybeans, grains, yeast, and salt. They take the soy beans and cook them for several hours in a large pot. Then they take some wheat, and slightly cook it in a skillet in order to give it a more smokey flavor.
They take the wheat and soy beans and add them together, adding in the yeast. Which they allow to sit for several days to allow to ferment slightly. Then they add in the salt and water in a barrel and allow to ferment. This takes several months to complete.
They occasionally open the barrels and blend the contents. This allows the gasses to not build up in the barrel. After it ferments, they drain the liquid, which is the soy sauce.
Is Soy Sauce Healthy?
There are issues when it comes to the health aspect of soy sauce. The main issue being the high sodium content. You may be perfectly fine consuming a lot of salt, but many have health issues preventing that. A single teaspoon of soy sauce can have upwards of 600 mg of sodium. This makes it really flavorful, but also pretty unhealthy.
Another issue comes from if you have a gluten or wheat allergy. Since it is made with wheat, soy sauce may not be good or those who suffer from celiacs disease. So you may want to avoid it if you have an intolerance to wheat.
Is There a Vegan Alternative to Soy Sauce?
Another replacement for soy sauce would be a product called Liquid Aminos. Liquid aminos are very similar to soy sauce, except that it is not fermented. It is still made with soy and salt, but it is not made using wheat. It also tends to have a lower salt content, making it a healthier option.
It is higher in amino acids, which is great for vegans. Many vegans don’t get in enough of specific amino acids, so this product can help with that. Many vegans swear by it, and it is great for people who have a wheat allergy.
So is Soy Sauce Suitable for Vegans?
Yes, soy sauce may not be the healthiest choice of condiment, but it is vegan. It can be used to spike the flavor of many dishes and can make an awesome broth. It is no less healthy than condiments like ketchup or mustard. Just be careful when you consume it, as it is easy to overindulge. So whether you put it on rice or in ramen, it works great to add a boost of flavor to any dish.
You Also May Like: