Foods & Ingredients

Is Nutella Vegan? Please be true…

Is Nutella Vegan?

Nutella has become in such a short amount of time a worldwide staple. People of all ages enjoy this tasty chocolaty spread on a slice of toast, but if you or someone you know is vegan, you might have wondered if Nutella is the right choice and is Nutella Vegan?.

It seems effortless to believe that this delicious dessert could be something that can be enjoyed by all.

Sorry, it’s time to break your heart

Sadly, we are afraid that we must break the bubble and tell you that Nutella is not vegan. What makes it not vegan? We will have to delve into the ingredient list in order to elucidate this mystery but fear not, we will not only do that but give you a couple of vegan Nutella options as well.

If you look on the ingredient list, you will see sugar, hazelnuts, palm oil, and cocoa primarily. So far so good. However, it does contain soy lecithin, vanillin and skimmed milk, making it non-vegan.

Does it still taste delicious? Yes, it does, but it is not the vegan option you thought you wanted.

Even more, Nutella has an incredible amount of sugar in it, up to dangerous levels that are over the daily intake dose for normal adults, and it is rich in palm oil, oil that Is used primarily because it tastes good, it makes the cream have that glossy look, and it pack a caloric punch.

In theory, Nutella is purely a chocolate hazelnut spread, and in today’s world, we have the benefit of seeing a lot of chocolaty vegan alternatives on the market. This is what makes being a vegan today so much better than being one a couple of years ago. We now have so many options to choose from.

So, if we cannot have Nutella as vegans, what can we eat to replace it which has a similar flavor? Go to your local market and look through the aisles.

Next to Nutella you are highly likely to find some organic options which are not only healthier (we’re thinking about all that sugar in Nutella) but also just as flavorful.

Some of the Vegan Nutella alternatives use no Palm Oil, which is not only more ethical but a lot healthier as well.

Beware that some products will still have some level of palm oil added even if they are overall healthier. As it was the case with soy sauce, here it looks like you will have to pick between the lesser of two evils.

Never fear, the alternatives are here – Vegan Nutella Alternatives

If you are vegan and are still having withdrawals from Nutella then never fear! There are alternatives which still provide the delicious flavor of Hazelnut with every bite. Here are a few

Dark Chocolate Dreams

Dark Chocolate Dreams

Cacoa Bliss

Cacao Bliss
Rawmio

Rawmio Vegan Nutella

If you really cannot stand to eat something that has palm oil in it (considering the devastating effects that palm oil has on the environment) you can look online for a vegan recipe for Nutella, making your own in the comfort of your home.

In the end, whether Nutella is vegan or not, it is still a delicious chocolaty spread that can be enjoyed by everyone, vegan or not, young or old.

Making your own from scratch by using a vegan recipe is still a valid option to consider, making it a fun activity for you with a delicious result! You can involve your significant other, your friends or even other family members in making your own!

Post Comment