Foods & Ingredients

Is Malic Acid vegan?

Malic acid – is it vegan?

Malic acid is a chemical that sounds like it is man-made but in reality, it is something so incredibly common that some of us intake it on a regular basis. If you want to find it in natural form, look for fruits that have a sour taste, the most common example being green apples.

That sour taste is given by malic acid, which is later absorbed by our mouths and is a natural chemical that generally benefits for our bodies. You can also buy it.

Not many people know of it and use it but those that do mostly use it and apply it for acne, on warts, on calluses and on other skin related problems that they may have. It is known to minimize these problems rapidly since it removes dead skin cells.

While there has been extensive scientific research done on the ways in which malic acid is good for dry mouth, the same thing cannot be said for the other things that we mentioned.

For example, there is little evidence that backs up the fact that malic acid can treat acne, aging skin, fibromyalgia, warts, psoriasis, or even tiredness. If you decide to go ahead still and use it on your face, we have a few tips for you.

Malic Acid commonly found in green apples

Knowing that is an acid, using it not distilled can lead to chemical burns or small rashes. We recommend that you dilute this acid in some water before applying it to your face so that you do won’t end up having to treat chemical burns later on.

Not only that, but malic acid is a common remedy for dry mouth. The sour taste stimulates the tongue to secrete more saliva.

Our bodies use Malic acid in the Krebs cycle. This natural human body cycle involves creating more energy in the body.

In the food industry, malic acid is used to give foods a sour, tart taste. The perfect example for this is represented by those sour apple worm gummies that you can buy. The sour taste is given by malic acid.

Some people love this taste too much that they feel the need to keep consuming it, which is why sour jellies, pastes, powders and other products are so popular.

However, please keep in mind that malic acid is acidic and, if taken in large quantities, it can cause stomachaches or even worse symptoms.

malic acid is completely vegan

However, the question is whether or not it is vegan. Lucky for you, malic acid is completely vegan, since it is derived from fruits and not from animals or animal byproducts.

Post Comment