Foods & Ingredients

Is Jif Peanut Butter Vegan?

Is Jif Peanut Butter vegan friendly?

Peanut butter for vegans is similar to avocado, or banana. Many vegans are addicted to it. It is used in smoothies, cookies, and even homemade sauces. One of the most popular peanut butter brands out there is Jif peanut butter, it’s the #1 choice for moms. So, knowing this, is Jif peanut butter vegan ?

It really depends on the peanut butter that you buy, they have many types. The regular creamy peanut butter,  appears to be vegan, but their peanut butter with honey or added Omega 3‘s is not. Omega 3s almost exclusively come from fish oil, making it not vegan. The Natural creamy peanut butter is contested, due to the fact that it contains palm oil.

Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter:

Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter

Creamy Peanut Butter :

is jif Peanut Butter vegan

Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter :

Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter ingredients

Natural Creamy Peanut Butter and Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter:

Natural Creamy Peanut Butter ingredientsCreamy Peanut Butter with Omega-3 DHA and EPA :

Creamy Peanut Butter with Omega-3 ingrediants

What are their Mono and Diglycerides?

Many companies do not put all the information on their nutrition labels. This means that it can be hard to tell if a product like “monoglcerides” contains animal products, or is derived from animals. This is the case with Jif creamy peanut butter.

However, there is no need to worry, as they are derived from soy products. A Youtube video made by No Egg Craig, shows him asking the company where their mono and digliycerides come from. Jif confirms to him that it is made from soy.

What about sugar in Jif peanut butter?

Sugar is not that hotly contested a product due to the fact that it contains no animal products in it. However, sugar is still made using bone char, or the charred bones of animals. These are generally leftovers from the animal agriculture industry.

Added sugar is found in everything from vegan cookies to vegan pasta sauce. Due to this, many people consider sugar to be unavoidable. Since it is so hard to avoid, many vegans believe that trying to avoid it is not practicable. No animal is killed for their bones to be used in char, so whether or not it is vegan is up to your discretion.

What about parent companies?

Many vegans don’t like to buy products from a company that also sells unethical products. For instance, Jif also makes their Cookies and Cream Hazelnut spread which as dairy. This does not make too much sense, as it is market changes that effect change in the industry. Buying vegan products tend to show that more vegan products should be made to meet demand.

Many vegans also don’t understand that shopping at your grocery stores brings the same dilemma. Most stores sell vegan products, but also sell meat, dairy and eggs. Most of us would not refuse  to go to Walmart simply because it doesn’t sell only vegan products. However, that depends on the vegans and how strict they want to be.

So is Jif peanut butter vegan? As long as you get the original variety, yes. Steer clear of the chocolaty varieties or the varieties that comes with honey or Omega 3’s. These are not found in the original creamy, though.

Post Comment