Foods & Ingredients

Is Calcium Propionate Vegan?

If calcium phosphate was a type of salt that we naturally found in a large number of products on the market, the same can be said for calcium propionate. In a nutshell, calcium propionate is a calcium salt that is derived from propionic acid.

Commonly known on the market as E282, this chemical compound is used primarily as a food preservative. You can also find it pretty often in most commercial bread out there, along with baked goods. It can also be found in meat and dairy products as a way to elongate their shelf life and preserve the product as fresh as possible.

However, meat and dairy products are out of the question. When it is used in bread, its primary use is to prevent mould and bacteria from setting in as fast as they usually do. This chemical has been marked as safe by most food chemicals associations which means that it is safe to eat by humans without having any side effects.

The way that calcium works when added to bread is to stop moistness from influencing the increase in bacteria or mould. As a company that mass produces bread, this is the essential compound in order to cut down on waste and food spoilage.

As was the case with calcium phosphate, calcium propionate does make people think of dairy products. However, calcium propionate could be derived from natural minerals as well.

Most people wrongfully assume that calcium only appears in dairy products however a lot of products contain calcium as it forms naturally. The short answer to the whether or not calcium propionate is vegan? Yes, it absolutely is.

Since more and more people start to go vegan, it does become an issue to scour the ingredient list and find out if a product is vegan or not. Seeing calcium on the list can turn out to be a false negative, at least in this case and the one that we previously talked about.

As far as we have researched, there is nothing wrong with calcium propionate, and the fact that we also saw it on the official list of chemicals that are suitable for vegans should forever end the argument on whether it is vegan or not. You can purchase bread from the supermarket without worrying if it comes with traces of animal products in it.

The commercial E282 that we find in foods does not come from plants or animals, it is made in a lab and therefore safe to consume by vegans. This is not something that people who advocate for organic meal options should go head over heels for but it is still vegan-friendly.

Post Comment