Foods & Ingredients

Is Calcium Phosphate Vegan?

Calcium phosphate – is it vegan?

If you are a strict vegan and want to make sure that nothing that you eat contains animal or animal byproducts in it, reading the ingredients list while going to the store can prove to be an arduous task that will leave some feeling wholly defeated. Complex, but a question that often does get asked is is Calcium phosphate vegan? Please read below for our full coverage.

However, knowing which chemical is vegan and which ingredient is not does not have to be such a terrifying task. This is why we are now going to break down whether calcium phosphate is vegan or not.

When we think of calcium, we more often than not think of milk and images of healthy bones. While this might imply that calcium phosphate is not vegan, you would be amazed to see that some chemicals do fit into the vegan dietary supplements and restrictions without breaking the rules that vegans stand for.

What is calcium phosphate?

Well, at its core, calcium phosphate is a type of salt that contains phosphate and calcium, both compounds that the body needs to survive on a daily basis. What is interesting about it is that it can also be found under a host of other names, including acid calcium phosphate, calcium biphosphate, calcium phosphate monobasic, and last but not least monocalcium phosphate.

Lucky for vegans everywhere, calcium phosphate is found under the list of vegan approved ingredients. While milk and other dairy products do contain calcium phosphate naturally, the one that you see under the ingredients list is not extracted from milk.

This vegan ingredient can be found listed under the ingredients for table salt, some canned vegetables, flours, condiments, nutritional supplements and even baking powder. This means that calcium phosphate is a pretty neutral ingredient that you don’t have to worry about when you are shopping for your meals.

The one place where calcium phosphate needs to be carefully examined is when it is added to supplements. If the supplements that you are taking are plant-based and they contain this compound on the list, things are okay, and you should not worry about it.

However, if they (at least in the United States) do not have the Pharmacopeia symbol on them, they may contain lead or toxin traces in them, if the calcium phosphate is coming from things such as bone meal, dolomite or even oyster shells.

The same thing could be said for supplements that are available for purchase in other parts of the world as well. Please check in with your doctor before deciding to start taking some new supplements to make sure that they are good for your body and that they do not have any side effects.

This advice can be said for all natural supplements that you decide to start taking. Supplements should never take over a healthy, balanced diet, whether you are vegetarian, vegan, or someone who regularly eat meat and dairy products.

Calcium Phosphate deficiency signs and symptoms

Post Comment