Foods & Ingredients

Is Aioli Vegan? (Potato Chip lovers beware)

Is Aioli Vegan?

A distant cousin of our favourite mayonnaise, aioli is a staple Mediterranean sauce that is usually made using olive oil and garlic. The name itself means “garlic and oil.” It is often commonly found on the coasts of Spain, in France and also in Italy. The question we are going to answer here is is aioli Vegan? Read on the see if it’s on the list of a vegan’s eat-list.

You may have opened the menu at a restaurant that was specialized in serving Mediterranean dishes and found this foreign sauce on the list. If the menu failed to include the list of ingredients you may have decided to skip this sauce altogether and opt for something that you felt was more familiar.

If you did this and you are a vegan, then you just saved yourself a world of trouble since aioli is not vegan, at least not the original recipe.

is aioli vegan?Let us tell you why. Yes, the recipe calls for garlic and olive oil but it also calls for adding egg yolks and lemon juice as well. The egg yolks give it a creamy texture, and the garlic offers a pleasant aftertaste that coats your tongue.

The mayonnaise that most people make at home is also made out of egg yolks, oil and lemon juice to balance out the heavy taste of the oil. However, using egg yolks means that it is not vegan anymore.

If you want to enjoy this creamy sauce and making it at home in a vegan version, fear not, there are multiple recipes available for you online. Most recipes suggest substituting egg yolks with cashews. You can do this by soaking the cashew for two to four hours in some water. They become soft and easier to mix.

Place your cashews in the blender, your garlic, your lemon juice, some apple cider vinegar and some shallots into the blender, with a pinch of salt for taste, and let the blender to its work.

After the consistency of the paste has become creamy and smooth, you can then slowly add in your olive oil, careful not to pour too much at a time. Add the oil slowly, and once it is fully incorporated, you can then add the mustard.

Traditional aioli is not Vegan but never fear! Scroll below for a quick vegan recipe

There are other recipes online for vegan aioli; this is just something that we found quickly, exact measurements for other sauce options are available at a click of a button. If you are allergic to cashew nuts, or all nuts for that matter, know that you can use avocado instead of cashew nuts and get a similar result. The taste will be unique, and you can easily enjoy it as a side dipping sauce for any meal option that you have decided to whip together on a whip. We would enjoy dipping some potato wedges into this sauce, but the world of possibilities is endless, especially in the kitchen.

Quick Vegan Aioli Recipe


Ingredients

⅔ cup vegan mayonnaise
2 garlic cloves, minced (If you like Garlic)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
Zest from 1 lemon
¼ teaspoon sea salt
Optional: 2 tablespoons water to thin and remove excess

Directions
Add all ingredients into a blender and whiz for 2 minutes. Scrape down the sides and add water to remove excess from the edges of the blender.

Contents should keep for the expiry written on the vegan mayonnaise bottle. Place in jar or bowl in the fridge

Post Comment